MoneyMakingExpert Forums Business Legal Advantages of private limited company?

Advantages of private limited company?

What are the advantages of setting up a private limited company? I’ve posted this in the Legal section, hope that’s right!

Currently I’m running a business as a sole-trader. It’s going very well and i’ve been running it for the last 3 years. It’s just me at the moment but I may bring someone on full time towards the end of this year. I do my own books but I’m looking to get an accountant to do it. I feel that it may be time to set up a limited company but want to find out from other business owners if it’s the best step.

What are the Pros when setting up a limited company? From what I understand, I’ll be more protected if something goes wrong? Which is one of the main issues I’m concerned with. I’m sure nothing will but I don’t want my personal assets to be at risk.

The 3 main reasons to set up a limited company I can see are:

– It’s a separate legal entity
– I look more professional
– My business name is protected

Is that right? What other Advantages are there? Are there any disadvantages?

Comments

Hey Bernard,

There are quite a few advantages of setting up a Limited Company compared to continuing running as a sole trader.

– Separate Legal Entity, Like you mentioned. This means you are not solely responsible. The business is it’s own entity and in the unfortunate event of being sued, your personal assets should be safe.

– Professional Status. You will look more professional to a certain degree. At the end of the day, anyone can set up a limited company however it can give off a better impression to other businesses and customers. They may trust you more.

– Reduced Tax. You may be able to reduce your Tax and national insurance, You can keep your salary lower enough to not be charged and then take it out in other ways. Your accountant will be able to talk you through this.